Six Favourites from 2017

Almost two weeks left of 2017, lots of time for more photos and gardening thoughts…but here anyway are a few of my favourite photos from this past year, a year I learned a lot  about taking pictures, gardening and beautiful Prince Edward County.

Monarch on Zinnia Sept 11 2017 1
This truly was Year of the Butterfly – we saw loads more than usual and their favourite  feast was the giant Zinnias I started from seed.
bee on Caryopteris x clandonensis, Sept 6 2017
There were also a lot more bees and other flying pollinators, such as this one looking for nectar in the Bluebeard {Caryopteris x clandonensis) shrub by the patio.
Echinacea pallida July 2 2017
These Pale Purple Coneflowers (Echinacea pallida) are special because I started them from seed and they survived their first year in the 2016 drought.  They bloom several weeks before Echinacea purpurea.
Zucchinni forest Aug 19 2017
These yellow zucchini not only tasted delicious but had gigantic leaves – many more than three feet across.  Made me feel I was gardening in a rain forest!
PEC haystacks Aug 19 2017 2
This field is about four kilometres from our house – I run or drive by it frequently – it has one of the best cloud-views around.  I took this shot from a moving car, and I love the blurriness of it all.
Shileau September 16 2017
Going down the road with Shileau on a warm late summer morning.  A strange  but beautiful photo taken with my phone.This is probably tops on my list.

2017 Favorites

 

8 Comments

  1. Beautiful shots, and I love the one of Shileau. Oh to see green again as well; we’re already buried under snow and in single digits temps. It’s going to be a long 2 months before we begin the slow climb out of winter.

    Like

    1. Thanks! I have a love/hate thing with winter and snow. Nice to hibernate a bit myself; love the crisp clean mornings; love how snow insulates marginal plants; hate cold fingers!

      Like

Comments are closed.