In a Vase, on Monday – Creamy

The earliest Hyacinths in my garden are fading away, and Muscari latifolium, the broad-leaved species of grape Hyacinth, have also started to release their final seeds. I wanted to gather them both, while I could, in a single, smallish vase to join today’s gathering of cut flowers at Cathy’s Rambling in the Garden site.

The Hyacinth are a lovely, creamy white variety, and very fragrant. They were the first Hyacinth I planted after we purchased this property, in one of the first gardens I created, which means they’ve been in the ground here for close to 25 years! The Muscari continue to surprise me. I’ve mentioned before how this species self seeds over a wider area than the more common Muscari – the ones you see in small pots in grocery stores in early spring. They also get much, much taller as the days go one – in this patch, some of which I’ve cut for today’s vase, there were stems as tall as 10″ – 25 cms!

Here they are together in the vase. Have a wonderful week everyone!

28 Comments

  1. I had no idea there are white hyacinths. They’re beautiful, and perfect in your vase. I’ve generally not been fond of hyacinths, but that mixture really appeals: both the blue and white.

    Like

  2. Yes, I have noticed the long stems on mine too, Chris, although it hadn’t occurred to me that it was not all varieties – so useful for a vase when you have a quantity of them, like my blubells. I have tken deadheads off most f my muscari know, so they don’t spread too much as I seen this happen to excess elsewhere. Yours look lovely with the hyacinth – I hearly composted my potted hyacinths at the weekend, but have decided to plant them out instead

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m happy you planted the Hyacinth instead of composting – it’s almost like getting free bulbs, or, if you amortize the cost over a few years, really inexpensive garden enjoyment every spring. Too bad tulips don’t seem to work the same way, but for potted daffs, Hyacinth, Muscari and Crocus – they all go in the ground!

      Like

      1. The hyacinths don’t grow the same way outside here though – they are lankier and the little florets are more spread out, so they don’t look as attractive

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment