6 on Saturday – 22JUN2024

I remember last week with fondness….it was chilly at night, sunny and warm during the day. Perfect late spring conditions for doing just about anything outdoors. Then the heat dome creeped in and summer arrived like a switch being turned on…ugh! We have survived, of course, and so has the garden. In fact, the high temperatures and a few timely thunderstorms have made things quite happy. Here to prove it are six things in my garden (photos taken yesterday since one of those thunderstorms is currently directly above us), joining Jim’s entourage at Garden Ruminations.

Gaillardia – Blanketflower – with Ox Eye Daisies still going strong
Who needs a boxwood hedge when you can have a colourful and orange marigold – Tagetes – hedge instead? Seeds collected from last year’s store-bought annuals, and started at the end of March.
Now adding some zing to salads, self sown Nasturtiums in a raised bed are blooming a few weeks ahead of the seeds I planted this spring.
Third year for these lovely Lauren’s Grape annual poppies in my garden – not only are they flowering where I want them (ie where I scattered seeds last fall) but they’ve also appeared in a few unexpected places. They started to open last Friday – you can see the flower pods popping open here – and a week later there are pops of purple all over.
There’s a huge lavender farm a few kilometres away and their festival is starting this weekend. I have my own mini festival going on around the side patio. English lavender – Lavandula angustifolia – is quite hardy and does well even with our snow and ice.

Finally – the roses. I have four Kordes multiflora/grandifloras, purchased bare root from a nursery in the Niagara region a number of years ago. I’ve learned that they don’t mind my heavy clay soil, even in a dry summer, but they absolutely don’t like to be crowded. I’ve moved two of them a number of times over the years, trying for that sweet spot, and last year I started to mercilessly pull out or cut back the Echinacea and Rudbeckia that was creeping in on the other two. The reward this year are shrubs with strong canes and a multitude of flower buds – now starting to open. Here is the pink ‘Cinderella’ the red ‘Crimson Bouquet’ the white ‘Iceberg’ and the yellow, my favourite because of the fragrance, ‘Friesia.’ Have a great weekend everyone!

24 Comments

  1. Extra special to have Marigolds from saved seeds…they remind me of marmalade. You really are the Pops of purple popping poppies! Cinderella is a special name for that pretty pink rose. (One of my many self-sewn Verbena bonariensis, growing between patio bricks, started blooming a few days ago. Maybe no watering today, after the passing T-storm)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Until this week, I’d never heard of Lauren’s grape poppies; now, they’re one of my favorites. I laughed at your photo of the gaillardia and daisies together. I have some photos that look almost exactly the same — except I took them in the middle of a nature preserve where they’d popped up together without any gardener’s hand!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. LOL! Well, my daisies were never purchased or planted..they just pop up where they want to. The Gaillardia in my garden did start as seeds, but I scattered them a few hundred yards from where they are now. So, Almost like nature intended😁

      Gaillardia almost always seem to prefer a gravelly soil with little competition, vs the daisies which will put down roots and pop up, like I mentioned, everywhere…to the point where I’m pulling them out before they finish flowering so that no seeds spread.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the purple poppies! I used to grow red ones and meant to get purple seed. I should get some. Maybe plant both together for a loud obnoxious burst of color. Nice work with the marigold edging. Your roses are superb. No Japanese beetles where you are? I am certain that if I planted roses there would be a shift away from native plant munching to rose munching. They prefer to devour unopened buds and then move on to total defoliation if you let them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve heard we have lily beetles, but I’ve yet to see them.

      I do believe I have leek moth though, for the first time…my garlic, which apparently a host for the feeding larvae, is looking very sad. Which makes me sad, since store bought garlic isn’t nearly the same not to mention it’s ridiculously expensive.

      Like

  4. A gorgeous selection of floral delights from you this week, Chris. The Gallardias and Daisies look great together. Poppy ‘Lauren’s Grape’ is a fabulous annual. I sowed seeds earlier in the year, but sadly they’re not doing much at all. You have four beautiful roses on show this week and I’m sure there are more in the wings waiting to make an appearance.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Marigolds for summer? I know that everyone else does it, but they still look like autumn flowers to me. I recently wrote about nasturtium, and how they are both warm season annuals and cool season annuals. The feral sort that grow through winter do not survive spring warmth, but replace themselves with more that do. Then, those that grow through summer do not survive autumn chill, but replace themselves with more that do. The poppies are rad!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment